Sam Desmet – Debut Album “Study < > Study”


Dr. Sam Desmet's Debut Solo Album featuring works by composers Simone Iannarelli, Francisco Tarrega, Angelo Gilardino and Leo Brouwer.

Product Description

Based on my own experiences, it seems that the title of a piece has influence on the first impression of a work. In a composition that is entitled ‘study’, it is not always clear what is meant.

Too often, a study is seen as a way of teaching a technical difficulty and the musical potential is left out or in the background. A lot of studies, in my opinion, are decent concert repertoire. I can only hope this recording will contribute to this.

List of Tracks:

Simone Iannarelli – Cinq études faciles ou prèsque…
1. Moderato
2. Adagio
3. Scherzando
4. Deciso
5. Cantabile

Francisco Tárrega
6. Prelude no. 1
7. Rosita

Juan Ramón Jiménez
8. Elegio di Marzo

Angelo Gilardino
9. Studi di virtuosità e di trascendenza: No. iv, Elegia di marzo (Omaggio a Juan Ramon Jimenez)
10.Studi Di Virtuosità E Di Trascendenza: No. xxxi, Tema Con Variazone (Omaggio A Fernando Sor)

Leo Brouwer
11.Hika, In Memoriam Toru Takemitsu